South Africa tour to India 2022- [Preview]

South Africa is scheduled to tour India in the month of June to play three-match T20I series, starting from 9th June at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi.

Hosts India have announced a new-look squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against South Africa. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested, while Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar and Suryakumar are not available for selection due to injuries.

Captain Lokesh Rahul will be hoping that the side can show consistency with bat and ball in this five-match T20I series. For India, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya make their comeback to the T20I squad.

Ruturaj Gaekwad, Axar Patel, Venkatesh Iyer, Ishan Kishan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have retained their place in the setup. Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal and Arshdeep Singh have been rewarded for their excellent performances in the recently concluded Indian Premier League.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul, Deepak, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya to deliver the bulk of the runs. Since August 2019, Kohli has topped the batting charts for India in the limited-overs cricket. He has accumulated 581 runs in 12 innings with two centuries and four half-centuries to his name.

Shreyas Iyer has flourished in his role as a middle-order accumulator in the T20 format. Since January 2021, Shreyas Iyer has accumulated 380 runs at an average of 63.33 with four half-centuries to his name.

Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda are players that will make up the middle-order for India for this one-day series.

In the bowling department, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has topped the bowling charts for India in T20 cricket since January 2021. In 16 matches, Kumar has completed 17 wickets at an average of 21.88.

Besides Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, and Umran Malik are the other prominent pace options for the side. In the spin department, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravi Bishnoi and Yuzvendra Chahal will be three front-line spinners for this five-match T20I series.

On the other hand, South Africa will be keen to do well in this five-match T20I series. The visitors have picked their full-strength squad for the T20I series against India. This five-match T20I series will help them prepare adequately for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

Surprisingly, middle-order batsman Aiden Markram was the standout performer for the side in the T20 format. Besides Markram, opener Quinton de Kock has shown excellent form with the bat in the shortest format of the game.

The responsibility will also be on the experienced batting trio of Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, David Miller and Rassie van der Dussen to deliver the bulk of the runs.

In the bowling department, the pace trio of Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada will need to make early inroads with the new-ball. Keshav Maharaj, George Linde and Aiden Markram are three spinners for the side for this one-day series. Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius and Marco Jansen are other prominent bowling options for South Africa for this five-match T20I series.

The opening game of the five-match T20I series will be played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi on 9th June. The second game of the series will be played at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on 12th June. The third game of the T20I series will be played at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on 14th June. The fourth match of the T20I series will be played at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on 17th June.

The fifth and final game of the T20I series will be played on 19th June at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.