Bangladesh tour to Sri Lanka 2022 [Preview]

Bangladesh is scheduled to tour Sri Lanka in the month of May to play two-match Test series. Captain Dimuth Karunaratne will be hoping that the side can produce positive results in this home series.

The Islanders have their 18-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh. Suminda Lakshan, Dilshan Madhushanka, and Kamil Mishara are three uncapped players named in the Sri Lanka’s Test squad for Bangladesh series.

Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Matthews, Kusal Mendis and Niroshan Dickwella are experienced players named in the Test squad.

On the other hand, Bangladesh have yet to name their Test squad for the two-match Test series. Captain Mominul Haque will lead the side for the Test series against Sri Lanka. Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Taijul Islam performed exceedingly well in the recently concluded tour of South Africa.

Khaled Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shohidul Islam and Shoriful Islam are pace options included in the Test squad, while Mehidy Hasan, and Taijul Islam are two spinners for the two-match series.

The visitors have done well in red-ball cricket after drawing the Test series in New Zealand. Mominul Haque-led unit produced a credible performance in South Africa despite losing the Two-match Test series. Bangladesh might bring more spinners for the tour of Sri Lanka.

Pacer Taskin Ahmed suffered an injury during tour of South Africa and will be looking to get fit in time for the Test series.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the experienced trio of Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thiramanne, Dhananjaya de Silva and Angelo Matthews to do the bulk of the scoring. Since 23rd April 2020, Dimuth Karunaratne has topped the batting charts for Sri Lanka in Test cricket with 1096 runs at an average of 57.68. Left-hander has smashed five centuries and three half-centuries in this period.

Middle-order batsman, Dhananjaya de Silva, has shown excellent form for the side in red-ball cricket. Since 23rd April 2020, Dhananjaya has accumulated 654 runs in 15 innings at an average of 50.30, which includes two centuries and three half-centuries to his name.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Kasun Rajitha and Vishwa Fernando to lead the way with new-ball. Praveen Jayawickrama, Ramesh Mendis and Lasith Embuldeniya are three spinners picked for this home series.

Since 23rd April 2020, Left-arm orthodox spinner Lasith Embuldeniya has topped the bowling charts for Sri Lanka in the five-day format. In eight matches played for Sri Lanka, Embuldeniya has claimed 40 wickets at an average of 31.00, which includes three five-fors and one ten-fors to his name.

Besides Embuldeniya, Off-spinner Ramesh Mendis performed exceedingly well for Sri Lanka in the Test format. In the four Test matches played, Mendis has claimed 26 wickets at an average of 21.53, which includes two five-fors and one ten-fors to his name.

The opening game of the Test series will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram from 15th to 19th May.. The second and final game will be played at Shere Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from 23rd to 27th May.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.