2022 ICC Women’s World Cup Team Preview-India women

India Women Team is one of the most favourite to win the ongoing edition of the Women ODI World Cup. Led by Mithali Raj, India has all the main chunks and experience to lift up their maiden title in the Women ODI World Cup. Like other teams, the girls in blue hold the capability to disturb the best on their day.

Talking about the history of the Indian team in the Women ODI World Cup, they have yet to claim their maiden title. The closest they came was in 2005 and 2007. In 2005, they were handed defeat by the six time champions Australia and in 2017 it was the four time champions England who subdued India.

In particular, India had impressive trout in 2017, they only lost two games against South Africa and Australia in the early stage of the tournament. In the semi-final they defeated arguably the best side, Australia. However, in the final, while chasing 229 the Indian side fell short of just nine.

Talking about the squad, India has got some big names such as skipper Mithali Raj, the Women ODI cricketer of the year 2021, Smriti Mandhana, experienced Harmanpreet Kaur and talismanic player Shafali Verma. These said players make India batting lineup to watch out for.

India’s bowling unit is led by ever-green and veteran Jhulan Goswami while the right-arm pacer will be accompanied by a group of spinners Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sneha Rana and Deepti Sharma.

Smriti and Jhulan surely are the key players for India and the girls in blue surely will be expecting a lot from these two.

Since 2019, India has managed to win 13 ODIs whereas they faced defeat in 15. During 2021 and 2022, India has picked defeats from England, Australia, and New Zealand.

As far as the ongoing World Cup is concerned, India has won two games out of five. After winning their opening match against arch-rivals Pakistan, India could only gather victory against West Indies. Mithali-led India was handed defeat by England, Australia, and New Zealand. However, they are yet to play their two games and if they win both of them, they might qualify for the next stage of the game. India now will play against Bangladesh on 22 March and South Africa on 28th March.

It must be noted here that it is the last World Cup for India’s skipper Raj. She will announce retirement from cricket after this Women’s ODI World Cup is concluded. Let’s see if the Indian side can give their captain a solid and memorable goodbye by claiming their maiden ODI title under her captaincy. It will be interesting to see how India fare in this year’s ICC Women’s World Cup.

India’s squad for ICC Women’s World Cup: Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur (vc), Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh Thakur, Yastika Bhatia, Smriti Mandhana, Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma, Tanya Bhatia (wk), Rajeshwari Gaekwad, Sneha Rana, Meghna Singh.

India women’s World Cup Schedule

6 March – v Pakistan

10 March – v New Zealand

12 March – v West Indies

16 March – v England

19 March – v Australia

22 March – v Bangladesh

28 March – v South Africa

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.