2022 ICC Women’s World Cup Team Preview-Australia women

The ongoing edition of the Women World Cup has been so great for the Australia team as they have won their five out of five games. In a recently concluded fifth game, they defeated India and made their place into the final fourth of the eight-team competition.

Talking about the history then Australia has won the ICC Women World Cup six times so far. The Kangaroos ended being a champion in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, and 2013.

Furthermore, they have made it into the semi-final of each tournament they partook in and this fabulous record summed up how fantastic they have been in the mega-event of the game.

Talking about the squad then Australia is carrying quite big and interesting names who can make them win this Women ODI World Cup. Although Australia had to miss out on some of their key players such as Georgia Wareham, Sophie Molineux and Tayla Vlaeminck due to injuries , the squad is still skilled enough to give other teams a tough time.

There is a helluva of experience at the top of the order with Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry and Beth Mooney forming the top four. Perry is the most experienced among them having played 118 ODIs to date but each of Healy and Lanning have played more than 80 ODIs as well. Albeit Mooney has played less number of ODIs in comparison but she has established herself as a vital cog in the middle-order too.

Moreover, Australia have also got other options too to get their batting problem sorted out such as Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Nicola Carey and Tahlia McGrath. So, undoubtedly Australia is a great team and a formidable force to reckon with.

The bowling unit of Australia has got some experienced names such as Megan Schutt. Schutt is supported by talented and young Annabel Sutherland and 18-year-old Darcie Brown. Moreover, Perry and McGrath are capable of delivering as a front-line pacer which makes Australia surely a great unit in the World Cup.

Talking about the ongoing edition, Australia team have thus far subdued England, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies and India. Thus far, they have won every game and now they will play their second last game against unbeaten South Africa and then the last game against Bangladesh on 22 and 25 March, respectively.

The contest between Australia and South Africa would be a sight to behold as both of the said teams are yet to lose any game in the running edition of the ICC Women ODI World Cup. However, Australia will be searching for their seventh title while South Africa Women are in a run to find their maiden title in the Women ODI World Cup.

Australia’s squad for ICC Women’s World Cup: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Jess Jonassen, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Nicolas Carey, Grace Haris, Ashleigh Gardner, Tahlia McGrath, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Alana King and Annabel Sutherland.

Reserves: Georgia Redmayne, Hannah Darlington,

 Australia women’s World Cup Schedule

5 Mar – England

8 Mar – Pakistan

13 Mar – New Zealand

15 Mar – West Indies

19 Mar – India

22 Mar – South Africa

25 Mar – Bangladesh

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.