2022 ICC Women’s World Cup- England women

The ongoing edition of the Women’s ODI World Cup hasn’t proved healthy for the English women team so far. They have only collected one victory out of four games and so far it feels that it’s unlikely that they will make their way to the next stage of the game.

England entered the ongoing mega-event being the defending champions. In 2017, they vanquished India at Lords and earned their fourth title in the marquee tournament. The English side won their first tournament in 1973, also the inaugural edition of the Women World Cup.

Led by Heather Knight, England also have the duties of the key players like Anya Shrubsole and Tammy Beaumont. Tammy was the player of the tournament in the last edition of the Women World Cup and since then she has been cornerstone of her side.

Since 2019, she’s the only England batter to make more than 1000 ODI runs, averaging 48.13 with the bat including three hundreds and six fifties in 27 matches. Moreover, she plundered 5 centuries during this time period which is most by any in Women’s ODI. On the other hand, Anya was the player of the final in the last Women World Cup and played an active role throughout the tournament for her side.

However, it seems like the four-time champions are having tough and rough and buffeting times in the running edition of the coveted tournament. Having key players like Heather, Tammy, and Kate Cross, England might not make it into the next stage of the game. Their lone victory came against India on 16th March when they managed to beat Blue Shirts by four wickets.

So far, England lost to Australia, South Africa, and the West Indies. The inaugural champions are yet to play against New Zealand, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Let’s see how England Women come back stronger and can make their mark into the semi-finals of the tournament.

During last year’s edition, English Women lost only one game, that too against India and in the Group stage. They beat South Africa in the semi-final and conquered India in the final to add yet another trophy to their name. The next game England will play against New Zealand on 20th March, then against Pakistan and Bangladesh on 24th and 27th March, respectively.

It should be noted here that currently the English side sits at number six in the points table of the tournament as they have only two points to their name. Defending Champions will have to win their remaining fixtures to seal their place in the knockout stages of the competition.

The final of the ongoing edition will be played on 3rd April.

England squad for 2022 ICC Women’s World Cup: Heather Knight, Katherine Brunt, Charlotte Dean, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Tammy Beaumont, Danielle Wyatt, Sophie Ecclestone, Amy Jones, Freyas Davies, Kate Cross, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Sophia Dunkley, Tasha Farrant and Emma Lamb

Reserves: Mady Villiers, Lauren Bell


England’s women World Cup Schedule

5 March – v Australia

9 March – v West Indies

14 March – v South Africa

16 March – v India

20 March – v New Zealand

24 March – v Pakistan

27 March – v Bangladesh

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.