2022 Basil D’Oliveira Trophy-[Preview]

After conclusion of the T20I series, South Africa will lock horns with England in a three-match T20I series. Currently, England have managed to retain Basil D’Oliveira Trophy on three previous occasions.

For South Africa, Experienced Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the tour due to a finger injury. Khaya Zondo, Ryan Rickelton, Simon Harmer, and Glenton Stuurman are new additions to the South Africa Test squad for the Basil D’Oliveira Trophy 2022.

Captain Dean Elgar will lead South Africa for the three -match Test series. Uncapped wicket-keeper Ryan Rickelton has been included in South Africa’s Test squad for the England series.

On the other hand, England have announced their 15-man squad for the three matches of the Test series against South Africa. All the players have been retained that were selected in the rescheduled fifth Test against India at Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham.

James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Matty Potts, Jamie Overton and Craig Overton are pace options for England for this Test series, whereas Jack Leach is the prominent spin option for this four-match series.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the experienced trio of Dean Elgar, Rassie van der Dussen and Aiden Markram to make notable scores in this Test series.

Since making his Test debut last year, Rookie middle-order batsman Keagan Petersen delivered excellent performances for South Africa. In seven matches played, Petersen accumulated 453 runs at an average of 34.84 with seven half-centuries to his name.

Ryan Rickelton is expected to be slotted into the middle-order for the Test series as Temba Bavuma is sidelined due to injury.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and, Duanne Olivier, and Marco Jansen to make crucial breakthroughs in this series.

Lutho Sipamla and Glenton Stuurman are other pace options for South Africa for this three-match Test series.

Simon Harmer and Keshav Maharaj are the prominent spinners picked by South Africa for the three-match Test series. Kyle Verreynne is the first-choice wicket-keeper for South Africa for the Basil D’Oliveira Trophy 2022.

On the other hand, Host England will be hoping that the side can continue their winning momentum after winning four matches on the trot including a 3-0 whitewash over New Zealand.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the likes of  Joe Root, captain  Ben Stokes, and Jonny Bairstow to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Since July 2021, Premier batsman Joe Root has topped the batting charts for the side in the five-day format. In 16 Test matches played, Joe Root has accumulated 1,744 runs at an average of 64.59, which includes eight centuries and five half-centuries.

In the bowling department, the onus will on the likes of Matt Potts, Jack Leach James Anderson and Stuart Broad to make crucial breakthroughs..

The opening Test of the Basil D’Oliveira Trophy 2022 will be played at Lords Cricket Ground in London from 17th till 21st August. The second Test match will be played at Emirates Cricket Stadium in Old Trafford from 25th to 29th August. The third and final Test match will be played at Kennington Oval in London from 8th to 12th September.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.